Other jobs you might be interested in
Part of Tuxedo Hospitality
Chinese Tuxedo aims to restore to public view the rich, cataclysmic history that has made Chinatown what it is today. Attention is being paid both to the historical elements found on both levels, including cinder blocked egresses formerly used as escape tunnels, large hinged doors and delicate columns. This means our guests are able to see these architectural details for the first time in perhaps a century. The Bar on the private dining level, is actually made from recycled wood salvaged during the renovation, amongst other unique touches.
HISTORY OF CHINESE TUXEDO
5 Doyers Street had many incarnations over the years - an Opera House, a Mahjong Den, an escape hatch for Chinese Gangs (known as the Tongs) and now finally, New York’s Best in category Chinese Restaurant.
The site has a long and storied history that is evident in the painstaking refurbishment conducted by owners Jeff Lam and Eddy Buckingham. The space at 5-7 Doyers Street was formerly the Chinese Theater (also known as the Chinese Opera House) opened by Chinatown merchant Chu Fong in 1893. In its heyday, the theater was not only an important social gathering place for the community, but also a destination for non-Chinese to show the breadth of their cultural knowledge.